Russian Tales: Hampstead's popular concert series concludes its fourth season at Rosslyn Hill Chapel


17 ноября 15:00

Rosslyn Hill Chapel

3 Pilgrim's Place, London NW3 1NG

Посмотреть на карте
Compressed file

Concluding its fourth successful season, the popular Hampstead concert series ChamberMusicBox continues on Sunday, 17 November 2019 to present another concert of exceptional chamber music playing in the beautiful, yet informal setting of Rosslyn Hill Unitarian Chapel. 

Under the title of Russian Tales the richly-melodic programme is centred around Alexander Glazunov's String Quintet Op. 39, a substantial and ingenious work using the same instrumentation as Schubert's masterpiece, adding a second cello to the string quartet. Dmitri Shostakovich's Five Pieces for two violins and piano as well as Sergei Rachmaninov's Elegy for cello and piano Op. 3 are infinitely charming miniatures perfectly suited to the intimacy of ChamberMusicBox concerts. The programme is completed by a rare gem of the Russian piano repertoire, Nikolai Medtner's Sonata Reminiscenza in a minor Op. 38. 

The exceptional line-up of artists will be led by Russian violinist Vadim Tsibulevsky, currently First Concertmaster of the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra in Amsterdam, who will return to London in December to lead the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House in La Traviata. He will be joined by two-time Diapasor d'Or winning violinist Yuri Kalnits, British violist Matthew Quenby, internationally renowned cellist and former member of the Dante Quartet, Pierre Doumenge, cellist and ChamberMusicBox Artistic Director Julia Morneweg and the young Russian pianist Elena Toponogova. 

ChamberMusicBox was recently awarded charitable status and work is currently underway to establish a comprehensive programme of outreach and community work to bring the organisation's unique brand of concerts to as many people within the Hampstead community as possible, regardless of their ability to attend concerts. 

Tickets are available through or on the door (cash only) and are priced at £15. Entry is FREE for children and young people up to age 25 courtesy of the generous support of the Cavatina Chamber Music Trust. 



Dmitri Shostakovich - Five Pieces for two violins and piano

Sergei Rachmaninov - Elegy for cello and piano Op. 3

Nikolai Medtner - Sonata Reminiscenza for solo piano in a minor Op. 38

Alexander Glazunov - String Quintet for two violins, viola and two cellos in A major Op. 39 


More details

Compressed file